Little Bat

I keep a stuffed bat in my desk drawer
It drapes over the front
With its beady eyes watching
It makes me smile
The little Goth girl inside me giggles
For crying is so overrated
And the emo children have mastered that emotion
This little bat
Holds my black wardrobe
With its black felt body and mesh wings
We all wish for fangs
To wander around the shadows
Enjoy the feeling of mist upon our skin
Create a story in the early morning fog
My little bat
Peeks at me as I write
I find myself smiling
For my past self
Is always a welcome muse at my table

Leave a Reply

