As You Lay Sleeping (first published on blog September 2012)

As you lay sleeping

With your tiny mouth puffed open

Softly snoring

While you sprawl across the bed

Little arms stretched above your head

My sweet child

I want to tell you

How beautiful

And perfect you are

Please always remain kind

Especially in a cold and cruel world

Remain strong and firm to your ideals

No matter who tries to make you bend to theirs

Be a good friend and great people will find you

Be angry and only misery fill find you

I want to tell you

That I love you

And you will always be my baby

So as you grow, lean on me and listen

Learn from mistakes, but be prepared to make some yourself

Forgive yourself and others

Forgive me for all my shortcomings

Remember everything I do has your best interest in mind

So as you lay sleeping

With your tiny mouth puffed open

Snoring softly

While sprawled across the bed

With little arms stretched above your head

My sweet child

Leave a Reply

