Searching

Searching the sunset

I am trying to find an answer

With feet grating against the sidewalk

The sound of my shoes

Scratching fills the silence

I wish I had an answer

But sometimes,

You are left questioning the day

The sun sets and I watch

Quietly, whispering my thoughts

I hope these ideas find a home

Outside this broken mouth

A place where they could be tucked in at night

And fill up on lullabies

Instead they are begging for attention

And I am rattling an empty cup

Hoping for change

Leave a Reply

