Out of My Mouth

Simple words collect near the drain
Brushing my teeth, trying to get the aftermath
Out of my mouth
Trying to get the taste of you
Out of my mouth
The grit of your language settles on my teeth
Catching you, wedging you between my incisors and canines
So every sentence digs into my gums
And my mouth goes dry
Flushing with water over and over, trying to get the afterthought
Out of my mouth
Trying to get the lies
Out of my mouth
Spitting out every memory
So they collect in a jumbled mess, chalky outlines in the sink
Every whisper, every touch
I really can’t swallow down any more intentions
I never meant you to remain passed the first date, but you
Are an exotic taste upon my tongue I am trying to get
Out of my mouth
Trying to get your every request
Out of my mouth
Splutter your name
Leaving it tangled near the drain
Jumbling letters swirling around and around
Turn on the faucet, washing you away
Washing you
Out of my mouth

Leave a Reply

