Letter to a Fair-Weather Friend

I wish we hadn’t parted ways
In such a firework display
Harsh words exploding
From a message you sent
A strong will with a coward’s fingers
Never considering
Goodbye should have been said verbally
It is easy to hide behind
A passive aggressive comment
I wish I could say
You being absent from my life
Has been noticeable
But, your friendship is fake
As your smile and your confidence
Never grasping the concept you get what you give
You are a wasted chapter in my life
A ghost that haunts a few treasured memories
I will be unable to exorcise
So this is my message
My letter I should have sent back
To a fair-weather friend

One thought on “Letter to a Fair-Weather Friend

Leave a Reply

