Chopstick Captivity

My silverware drawer
Has a layer of chopsticks
Criss-crossing over spoons and forks
From paper wrapped bamboo
To basic white plastic
To intricately painted ones
That I never had the heart to remove
From their thin plastic covers
I blame this on my college friends
Whom decided a full Chinese food experience
Included stabbing at sweet and sour pork
With chopsticks while holding my silverware captive
Giving into the hostage experience
I succumb to the challenge
To eat with chopsticks
Evolving from silverware
I prefer the feel of bamboo upon my lips
Than metal scratching my teeth

One thought on “Chopstick Captivity

Leave a Reply

