Volumes

My home is built with books
As in, I am overflowing in books
Many unread strangers
I keep inviting over to dinner until they move in
And a few, friends I keep tucked in back
Whispering adventures over and over in my ears
I live in a tomb of words
As a writer, it excites me
To pull at random spines until the ribs crack open
Exposing a story pulsing with life
I reach into caress the heart
Let the words wrap around my hands
Until in feverish excitement
I wrap myself up in the pages
Within volumes of unexplained

One thought on “Volumes

Leave a Reply

