Thankful for Back Roads

Thank goodness for back roads
Those sneaky little ways
To avoid the rush hour jam
Twisting and turning
Enjoying the view
Exploring the scenery and finding
An adventure or two
Yes I am thankful
For those little detours
That keep me from dodging
The restless drivers
And help me avoid
Sitting for hours
Listening to the same top five billboard songs
Over and over again
The madness, the stress
So I am thankful for the back roads
And the freedom they provide me

Leave a Reply

