Imagine Myself in Black and White

I imagine myself in black and white
A cover photo
With me sitting on the steps
Of an alley staircase
I wear a suit
Rumpled and the shirt half tucked in
Collar skewed and the sleeves rolled up
The top buttons undone
With a small patch of lace peeking
Black with thin lines zig-zagging around a tiny bow
The pants are bunched slightly at my thighs
Revealing mismatched socks
Hiding within the basic black penny loafer
I imagine myself in black and white
A beauty shot
Capturing my pale eyed gaze
With dark makeup covering my eyelids
Surrounding my eyes in black
While I wear a crooked smile
Framed in smudged lipstick
A cigarette dangling from my lips
While my hair is wild, untamed
A wildfire framing my face
I imagine myself in black and while
A presentation
Manifesting all the nights
I dance until the morning hours
Stealing kisses from strangers
And kicking back shots of whiskey
An image empowering my strength
Wild and free, I hold night
Within the curve of my crooked smile
And the defiant glare
Lingering in the shadows
Sitting and waiting for her twilight

Leave a Reply

