Little Skeletons

My bones are the least of my worries
For the skeletons
Rattling in my soul
Can all speak and they know how to pronounce my name
They grip at my rib cage
Rattling, rattling
Until I am shaking with their demands
I stare at the mirror
With them haunting my reflection
Their words hiss in my head
And I wish I could pry their cold fingers from my back
Digging in deeper and deeper
Slumping forward for they layer my back
Telling me every detail
Reminding me of every secret I carry
Try to fold up and push down, down
Eventually they sprout spines and clattering teeth
These little secrets have their own skeletons
Pulling at me every day
Leaving me
Wishing I had no name

Leave a Reply

