Little Alien

Little alien
Skittering up the walls
Beady eyes surveying
My apartment
For a corner to invade
String along your invisible traps
Drooping and dangling threads
Getting caught upon my fingertips
Invisible fingers tickling my arm and face
You boldly watch, little alien
Plotting a hostile takeover
We are in a stand off
Standing still I watch you
Sitting close to the ceiling
Watch as you pull your legs in
As if making yourself smaller
Will make you invisible to my line of sight
So we come to a silent truce
An unspoken understanding
Little alien
You will invade the shadows
Stay out of sight
For the moment I see you
Skitter across the walls
Extermination will soon follow

Leave a Reply

