Season to Age

Autumn catches upon my tongue
Leaving my mouth tingling
Burning with sunsets and cool breezes
With every breath
Leaves stir in my eyes
And my thoughts are lost
In dew filled mists
I want to spin and twist each wisp
Into a web of starlight
Flickering, flickering around me
For my blood is settling from the roar of the sun
Humming, purring
As I curl up in a blanket with a hot cup of tea
Listening to the wind sing
Listening to the rain dancing along the roof
For this is my season
My season to let my body be old
Recover and heal from the summer
Chasing after the sun, dancing with the moon
Let my body creak and ache
And enjoy the battle scars of the year

Leave a Reply

