Leave Tattoos

In the changing of the leaves
I find a beauty
I wish to press against my skin
Gather up
Collect all the reds, oranges and yellow
Layer them upon my body
So I become a bonfire
Burning brightly, brightly
Against the cloudy night sky
Push them upon my arms, legs and stomach
Until the colors bleed, tattooing
My skin with kisses of color
And I can stretch across the horizon
As the wind travels over me
My leaves would ripple and shake
A wildfire spreading over my body
Allowing smoke to gather in my eyes
And a lullaby escape my lips
As I burn brightly, brightly

One thought on “Leave Tattoos

Leave a Reply

