Kindness Panhandling

Thoughts echoing behind my eyes
I pull at my hair
To ease the sting of every word
Sentences hiss in my ears
An explosion rattles me
Slumping forward
I tilt my head up
Hoping all the pain will run out the other ear
I am told dreams are comforts
To help me sleep
I am not sleeping therefore these dreams
Are orphans
Panhandling at my consciousness
For a free bed
My charity is lost to self-destruction
In my head everything burns
Until every kind word is homeless
Wandering around and around in my head
Lost

Leave a Reply

