Red Sun Cocktail

The smoke swam around
Fogging over my glass
Swished around the sun
It glowed from the bottom
The skyline burned
Flames danced upon the horizon
Swished around the sun
The smoke stung my tongue
Jabbed the sun with a toothpick
Drove it through the middle
A bright red olive
Caught in my teeth
Bit down and popped the sun
Left it melting, maraschino red
Dyed my tongue
The world burned around me
Tried to catch it in my glass
Smoke grabbed at eyes
Crying, tears were the only water
We had seen for days
Flames scorched the horizon
Dressed it in soot and ash
The sun wore red to the party
We watched the world glow at midnight

Leave a Reply

