Love Poem for a Broken Soul

lingering in the shadows

are pondering tongues

eager to explore

these broken words

grate the jagged edges against cracked lips

sorrow sees no healing hands

and I feel broken

I have been numb for so long

I have forgotten my soul

so lingering in the shadows

I let my silhouette drape along chair

collecting dust

when I close my eyes

I can feel moths waiting along my ears

every flick of their wings a new syllable

that never makes it passed my lips

this is how it feels to be dead

flat and fading into the background

sometimes I miss my soul

but only takes one set of careless hands

to destroy something so beautiful

I feel angry

allow my rage to flood out in sentences

scribbled on leftover love notes

set them on fire so maybe I could feel something

these days

I feel numb

lingering in the shadows

with pondering tongues and greedy hands

wondering when my next meal for lust

will be delivered curbside

disinterested in life, and you

so I will make myself at home in the shadows

lounging in the silence

eyes closed, crying silently

I have been numb for so long

I have forgotten my soul

3 thoughts on “Love Poem for a Broken Soul

Leave a Reply

